The Calm (Part 3)

Maybe it was our desire not to get a “whippin’.” 

Mama and Daddy both believed in using the belt on our butts!  But it was always the last resort and not in an abusive manner.

From birth to 18 years of age, I received no more than five “whippin’s.”  And, to be honest, I only remember getting one.  I was about six or seven years old, and my oldest brother and I were going at it.  I don’t recall if we were fighting or arguing.  Anyway, I deliberately stuck him with a pencil.  He told on me, and I “got it.”  Never did THAT again!

For the most part, we wanted Mama and Daddy to be proud of us, and we acted accordingly.  They set the pattern for calmness for us, and we followed.

NOTE:  I detail how we were raised in my first book, Line of Serenity.  It covers the years 1944 through 1977.  (Good food has always been, and continues to be, a big part of our family tradition, and Line of Serenity includes 21 deee-licious recipes.)  Go to www.goodshortbooks.com

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

