Spreading Good News (Part 165)

Hello, Blog Readers!

I look for information that is useful, inspirational, informative, motivational, awe-inspiring, educational—anything that is good “brain food,” and I blog it here for all who are interested.  Occasionally, I blog about something from my own knowledge or experience.

It is my hope that you will enjoy and be able to use most of what is here.

If you’d like, post a comment and let me know what you think.

~ Joyce Fields

**********************************************************

Many of my experiences and lessons learned have been captured in the books that I have written.  Read the previews and reviews and order at www.GoodShortBooks.com.

**********************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

DON’T LET OTHERS KEEP YOU AT YOUR LOWEST LEVEL.  RISE.  ~ Joyce Fields

**********************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

A few days ago, I had an interesting conversation with a 29-year-old working mother.

She told me that, although she had just turned 29, she was dreading turning 30.  She thought that 30 was “old.”  So, I asked her a few questions that caused her to stop and think about her reaction to aging:

1.      What happens if you don’t turn 30?

2.      Would you rather die before your next birthday?

3.      Are you smarter at 29 than you were at 19?

4.      Do you think you’ll be smarter at 30 than you were at 20?

I assured her that it is a blessing to live to see each year.  I’m 67, and I’m looking forward to turning 70!  I’ll get older, but I’ll never get “old.”  Getting older is a fact—if you continue to live.  Getting “old” is a state of mind.

And I told her that, as you get older, you bring more knowledge and experience to bear on the problems and challenges that life presents.  Living gets easier because you learn more about what’s important and what’s not; who’s important and who’s not.

In addition to being a working mother, she and her boyfriend live together with her 11-year-old child, and she is a college student.  She has a chance to get her degree earlier if she loads on more classes.  I could hear in her voice that she and her boyfriend don’t particularly like that idea, and she would have even less time to spend with her child.  She was already under enough pressure and stress with the load she’s presently carrying.  So, I asked her some more questions:

1.      Do you like the idea of adding more pressure and stress to yourself and those you love?

2.      What might the added pressure and stress do to your happiness?

3.      How high a price do you want to pay for getting your degree earlier?

4.      What do you lose if you get your degree later, rather than sooner?

5.      What do you gain if you get your degree later, rather than sooner?

She thought all this over, answered all the questions for herself and decided that she does, indeed, want to get older, and she’s not going to load on more classes!

Way to go, girl!!

 

~ Joyce Fields

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 165)

  1. TaskForce says:

    You have some great points there and the questions that you asked this lady are questions that people have asked me. Now I am only going on myself and although I see myself as getting old I say it in a joking matter,(although with a heart that stops beating when I sleep and two discs in the lower back that slip and knock me out of commition and epilepsy that stops my from work or driving I feel old) for my comment that always follows after that is with age becomes life experiences and with life experiences comes knowledge and I also say that to people who say they are old. But for myself, from the day I turned 18 I look at my birthday as another day. Now I have been asked why? My response to that was I really haven’t looked at my birthday the way others do. I don’t know why and to this day I still can’t say why I feel this way.

    • Hi, TaskForce: I understand. I don’t know why I feel the way I do about aging, either. Except that my mother always said, “If you live, you’re going to get older.” That must have had more of an impact on my attitude about aging than I thought. Works for me, because I like my attitude about aging.

  2. balding2soon says:

    Hi I have commented to a couple of your posts under another ID this is the new blog I mentioned to you the other day it is still private,but i have added you enough so u could read the posted blogs.

Leave a Reply

