Spreading Good News (Part 288 – Bees, Ants, and Spiders)

The goal of Spreading Good News is for readers to:

GET INSPIRED and/or GET MOTIVATED and/or GET INFORMED and/or GET AWE-STRUCK and/or GET A BREAK FROM ALL THE NEGATIVE NEWS and to tell readers about our books!!

******************************************************************

THIS WEEK’S REVIEW:  “The Best Way to Keep a Man is to Let Him Go (among other things)”

Eleanor Jones-Haynes of Pasadena, California, says “A Wealth of Information.  This book is simply AWESOME!!!  The relationship advice and experience offered from the author, Joyce Fields, is incredible.  I especially enjoyed her “no-nonsense” and sometimes humorous approach to real-life relationship issues.  And who better to get such a “wealth of information” from other than a woman who has experienced it and lived it for 42 years!  I would encourage any woman, single or married, to read this book. . .you certainly won’t be disappointed.  Thank you Joyce for sharing some of your life and experiences with all of us & thanks for those recipes!!!

 

Read the preview and reviews for “The Best Way to Keep a Man is to Let Him Go (among other things)” and order today at http://www.GoodShortBooks.com.

 

VIEW OUR CABLE TV AD HERE:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AXHTT8NGT8

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

IF HARSH WORDS MUST BE SAID, SAY THEM IN PRIVATE.

~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

Bees, Ants, and Spiders

 

 

 

It was one of those days I did not wish to live again.  I had been working for weeks to secure a deal that would give me a nice provision.  Everything seemed to go perfectly, and I had already been joking with co-workers what I would do with the extra income.

I picked up the phone and called the customer to get the deal finalized, only to hear that the depression had hit the company.  My customer said half the staff had been let go and that all purchases were put on hold.

I had so concentrated on this deal I had not worked much on my other customers and knew that instead of getting a big fat check, I´d be having one of the smallest ones I had ever received.

I just couldn´t stay at my desk, so I got up and went to get some coffee.

The cleaning lady was just washing the vending machine.  I slumped to a chair and felt awful.

“Bad day?” she asked.

I was startled and looked up.  The cleaning lady was looking at me.

“You can say that again.” I said and sighed.

“What is the matter?” she asked.

She was a motherly type of a woman, with kind eyes.  I had seen her around for years but never said a word to her really.  And yet I suddenly found myself telling the whole pitiful story to her.  She listened intently, finished cleaning the vending machine, and nodded.

“Your situation brings to mind my own father.  He was also a salesman, but not lucky enough to be able to sit in one office.  He was a travelling salesman.  You know: big suitcases and all.  Vanished for weeks sometimes and came back with an empty bag, pay check, and a big hug for us kids and mother.”

I looked at her, not knowing where she was going with this.

“There was a time when he also lost a big sale.  It was just before Christmas, and he had to tell us children that there would be very few presents.  We were disappointed, but he gathered us around him and told a story.  I shall always remember those inspirational words.  First he asked us which animals we liked best.  My answer was cats. My older brother liked dogs, and my younger one loved ponies.  Then he asked if we wanted to know which animals he admired the most and, of course, we did.  The bees, the ants, and the spiders, he told us.”

I lifted my eyebrows.  The cleaning lady smiled.

“Now we, of course, did not agree with him, but asked why ever would he like such nuisances.  Didn´t they bite or sting or just look plain ugly?  He explained to us, and these inspirational words have been my guideline ever since.”

“He said he liked the bees because, if a bear breaks their nest and steals their honey, they keep on building their honeycombs, making more honey.  And he liked the ants because, if the same bear destroys their nest, they also immediately start building their nest anew, working together for a common goal.  And the spiders he liked because, if their webs are destroyed, they start repairing the damage right away—or building a whole new, better one.”

“He said the lesson he had learned from these little insects was that the world may surprise us sometimes by destroying even our most carefully-built plans, but if we choose to be ready to start all over again no matter what, eventually we shall achieve great results.  We shall just have to start again, one step at a time.”

At that, the cleaning lady nodded to me and pushed her cart out of the room.

I sat there for a while, thinking of what she had said.  Then I got up, walked back to my desk and started to build my next pay check, one customer at a time.

 

~ Author Unknown

NOTE FROM JOYCEIf this piece did something for you, send the link to others.    Thanks!!

***************************************************

~ Joyce Fields

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 288 – Bees, Ants, and Spiders)

  1. balding2soon says:

    Hi there, very touching, My father was a truck driver OTR and always had work, but with that being said the pay for truck drivers, wasn’t that great and with 7 children and my father and mother and utilities and of course those summer and winter taxes, our christmas gifts, weren’t the greatest, but the greatest gift for me, was the fact that dad was home for the holiday. I have always loved the song by Alabama Roll On (Eighteen Wheeler), and it hits harder now ( every time I hear it) by the fact that when my dad hard his first major heart attack he was in Chicago driving truck as usual, it was then that the doctors said no more, taking him from the only thing he knew and could do at his age. Other children in the house always looked for the gifts, I was just happy to wake up in the morning and see him on the couch waiting for us. Sure some times he had to go out later that day but he was always home in the morning and there where times we had to start over, because the company he worked for shut down or sold ownership and the new owner fired him or layed him off for what ever reason and it took him a couple of days up to a week to find another job, but back then truck driving was like computer repair techs now everyone is looking for them. But now a truck driving job is very hard to find.
    Which brings me to something that coincides with both our situations, I was workings as a security guard back in 2001 and a driver came up to me on Valentines day and ask me, What am I going to tell me wife? I asked what is wrong, he said well it is Valentines day and this is my last day of work I have to go home and tell my wife I no longer have a job. I then asked was it a firing or quit or a lay off. He said none of those. He had said the company is closing up. I said well then it shouldn’t be to hard, 1 Tell her the truth, My job is closing doors, so today was my last day at Consolidated Freightways. If you come out and let her know the the company is closing doors first, then you don’t have a job. It won’t be so hard, sure Valentines day isn’t a very good day to have to break bad news but sometimes neither is waiting. If she loves you and has faith in the Lord it doesn’t matter what day it is whether it is Valentines or her Birthday, and you have lost your job, she will still love you, and that is all a part of starting over.

Leave a Reply

