Spreading Good News (Part 336 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Step 3)

I was recently (June 2011) diagnosed with breast cancer and will be blogging about “My Breast Cancer Journey.”

If I can inform or allay the fear(s) of just one female, this journey and the documenting of it will have been worth it!  By the way, men get breast cancer, too.  If you have breast tissue, you can get breast cancer.

******************************************************************

It’s important to have the love and support of your mate as you make this journey.  I am blessed because my man is giving me both, as he stands beside me and behind me!  It would be a whole lot harder—on many levels—without him.  I’m very thankful!

******************************************************************

And I want to acknowledge the outstanding care that has been provided to me by my care givers, starting with my Primary Care Provider, Dr. Stanley Tu of Pasadena, California, Dr. Jon Foran and Dr. Lakshmi Tegulapalle from the Huntington-Hill Breast Center, and Dr. Dawn Hills (my surgeon), Director, Surgical Breast Oncology at the City of Hope Medical Group.

The Huntington-Hill Breast Center is a fantastic, state-of-the-art, beautiful facility.  The staff treats patients with tremendous professionalism, courtesy, kindness, and sensitivity.  Kudos to all of them!

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

LISTEN TO THE ADVICE OF OTHERS.  IF YOU CAN USE IT, FINE.  IF NOT, DISCARD IT AND MOVE FORWARD.  ~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

My Breast Cancer Journey:  Step 3

On my next visit to Dr. Tu, he gave me referrals to the doctors I would have to see.  There were two surgeons (I was divinely guided to choose Dr. Dawn Hills), one radiology oncologist, and one medical oncologist.

Back in April—before I knew there was a lump in my breast—I had already bought my ticket to Detroit.  My two sisters and three of my four brothers still live there—the place where we were born and raised, and where I lived until 2003.  My fourth brother lives in Springfield, Massachusetts.

I usually visit Detroit once a year to see my siblings, as well as grandkids, nieces, nephews, and a bunch of other relatives and friends.  This trip was scheduled for July 2 to July 11, so I wanted to make my doctor’s appointment AFTER I returned from Detroit.  And I wanted to know if that would be okay.

Dr. Tu thought that would be fine, but he wanted me to consult with Dr. Hills.

I called Dr. Hills’ assistant and asked her to ask Dr. Hills if I could delay seeing her until after July 11.  My appointment was scheduled for July 15.  Yay!!

I very objectively calculated how and when I was going to tell my siblings and others about my breast cancer diagnosis.  I did not want a “doom and gloom” overtone to my trip.

For ten whole days, I had an absolutely wonderful time in Detroit!

My flight back to LAX was to depart on July 11 at 10:15 p.m.  About 30 minutes before leaving the house, heading to Detroit Metro Airport, I gathered all the females in an upstairs room and told them the good and bad news.  The good news:  early detection and a small lump; the bad news:  it was cancerous.

Their faces were all glum, but brightened when I told them that I was feeling fine (hadn’t I showed them that during the ten days?), and I wasn’t sad or worried.  It’s in God’s hands.  I just wanted it out of me.

They had a few questions, followed by hugs and smiles.  Then, I went downstairs and told the guys.  They saw how I was handling it, so they handled it well, too.

I have a GREAT family!!

Hugs and kisses all around, then it was time to leave for the airport.

California, here I come.  I was ready to see Dr. Hills on July 15!

 

NOTE FROM JOYCE:  Prayers and good wishes are welcomed.  Feel free to leave a comment and/or send this link to others.

***************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 336 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Step 3)

  1. Margaret E. Jackson says:

    You are truly a woman of faith. You have been an inspiration to me every since we reconnected last year through Facebook. You always speak in positive terms about every situation. Seeing you in July, here in Detroit, was a blessing for me. I am with you in prayer believing that it is already done. God said “with his stripes we are already healed.” Love you my sister, my friend. Be blessed. Talk to you soon.

    Margaret

  2. Thank you for sharing your story, Joyce! Best wishes to you on Monday.

  3. FunDesign2 says:

    I hate that I missed you when you came to visit. But “Ma BELL” is the next best thing to communication. Thanks for keeping us updated on your progress.

  4. Vince Berry says:

    You are wonderful lady and fantastic relative, I’ve always felt that you were one person who always keep it positive on every situation. You are a inspiration to me. I love you… and in your words… you are too blessed to be stressed. I know it will all work out. God bless

  5. Vince Berry says:

    the post about your family is so true, they are all wonderful people and great relatives. your family has always had….. a line of serenity.

  6. 網路 says:

    I was very pleased to find this site. The reason being that this is such an informative post. I wanted to thank you for this informative analysis of the subject.

Leave a Reply

