Spreading Good News (Part 337 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Step 4)

I was recently (June 2011) diagnosed with breast cancer and will be blogging about “My Breast Cancer Journey.”

If I can inform or allay the fear(s) of just one female, this journey and the documenting of it will have been worth it!  By the way, men get breast cancer, too.  If you have breast tissue, you can get breast cancer.

******************************************************************

It’s important to have the love and support of your mate as you make this journey.  I am blessed because my man is giving me both, as he stands beside me and behind me!  It would be a whole lot harder—on many levels—without him.  I’m very thankful!

******************************************************************

And I want to acknowledge the outstanding care that has been provided to me by my care givers, starting with my Primary Care Provider, Dr. Stanley Tu of Pasadena, California, Dr. Jon Foran and Dr. Lakshmi Tegulapalle from the Huntington-Hill Breast Center, and Dr. Dawn Hills (my surgeon), Director, Surgical Breast Oncology at the City of Hope Medical Group.

The Huntington-Hill Breast Center is a fantastic, state-of-the-art, beautiful facility.  The staff treats patients with tremendous professionalism, courtesy, kindness, and sensitivity.  Kudos to all of them!

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

SELF-EXAMINATION IS GOOD FOR THE SOUL.  BE HONEST.

~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

My Breast Cancer Journey:  Step 4

On July 15, I’m sitting in the examining room, waiting for Dr. Hills to enter.  I’m very pleased with how calm I seem to be.

The technician knocks and enters the room to take my vitals.  Height is 5’ 2”, weight is (I ain’t tellin’), temperature is normal, and blood pressure is………116/58!  I AM calm!!

I have to take off my top and put on that paper jacket—open in the front.

Dr. Hills knocks and enters the room.  I don’t remember our initial conversation, but she performs a thorough breast exam, tells me to get dressed and that she’ll wait for me outside the door, and we’ll go to another room to talk.

In the consultation room, she draws a picture of a breast—a front view and a side view.

I have the most common form of breast cancer—invasive ductal carcinoma.  She draws milk ducts in the picture and explains that the cancer started in a duct and then burst out of it; hence, the “invasive” part.  I understand.  I just want it out.

She explains more medical stuff about lymph nodes, sentinel nodes, etc.  She wants me to get an MRI so she can have a three-dimensional view of the lump.

I really like Dr. Hills!  Good vibes!  She explains thoroughly, answers all my questions, and makes sure that I understand.  And she has a great sense of humor!

A few days later, I had the MRI.  The results showed a “suspicious” lymph node under my right arm.  Another biopsy is necessary.  I prayed that it was benign.  It was.  It was just fatty tissue.  Thank God!!

Surgery (a lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy) is scheduled for Monday, August 15.

After surgery, Dr. Hills has ordered me to be on a “Club Med Vacation.”  So, for three weeks, I will do no cooking, cleaning, or laundry!  That’s gonna be very strange, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!  Or rather, a girl’s gotta NOT do what a girl’s gotta NOT do!

But, she explicitly told me that I CAN be on the computer.  Woo hoo!!


P.S.  This will be my last “My Breast Cancer Journey” post until after my surgery on Monday.  I have received a lot of positive feedback!  Thanks for your prayers and support! 

This post may be up until Wednesday or Thursday, depending on how I’m feeling after surgery.  (I expect to be feeling fine!)


NOTE FROM JOYCE:  Prayers and good wishes are welcomed.  Feel free to leave a comment and/or send this link to others.

***************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 337 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Step 4)

  1. Letha says:

    I love you.

  2. FunDesign2 says:

    When I read this comment I found myself overtaken with emotion because you are living out loud what SO MANY women have to live in silence or alone. YOUR courage throughout this process is tremendous and I HOPE that when a BIG trial comes my way, I will have a fraction of the courage, boldness, grace and peace you’re displaying NOW!

    Your postings have truly been a blessing. In them I know that I can find peace and calm in the middle of a storm when I seek GOD, face that storm head on, and have the support of family and friends who LOVE me.

    A testimony is ‘your story’ shared with others, not only are you sharing but you are also bringing God GLORY because HIS HAND is evident and on you. How will people know of God’s goodness unless we tell it? Cuz, I will see you on the OTHER side of VICTORY!!

    Love ya,
    Dannie

  3. I think it’s courageous and beautiful that you are sharing your experience with other people to inform them about breast cancer and the humanity of it that you are doing it in such a uplifting way. Blessings to you and I will be saying a prayer for you as you have your procedure done tomorrow. Much love and many blessings.

  4. Vince Berry says:

    Good to see you today. I know your sleep right now, gotta get that rest you need. I look forward to seeing you when you return home. You are in all of our prayers and we love you.
    Vince and family

  5. Nita says:

    I’m praying for you…I know you’ll be just fine! I have a reminder note on my desk to give Pap a call around 3:00 or 4:00 p.m., Midwest time, to see how WONDERFULLY things went! I got the items you requested (honey BBQ chips and licorice candy), if they don’t arrive today, you should have them by tomorrow.

    i LOVE YOU!!

  6. Nita says:

    Oops! I should have made the “I” in upper case!!

  7. Ava Glenn says:

    Hey Baby!
    I called you Saturday to check up on you. Mekkah said you were sleep. I asked her to give you hugs and kisses and tell you they came from me, did you receive them? Love you sis and you’re in my prayers everyday. Get well soon!

  8. Gil Sciacca says:

    I keep listening to the news update speak about getting free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the finest site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i find some?

  9. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  10. I reckon something genuinely interesting about your blog so I bookmarked .

  11. I really like your writing style, great information, thanks for posting : D.

  12. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  13. I love your writing style truly loving this web site. “To him who is in fear everything rustles.” by Sophocles.

  14. Very interesting subject , regards for posting . “The great leaders have always stage-managed their effects.” by Charles De Gaulle.

  15. Some genuinely quality content on this web site , saved to my bookmarks .

  16. I just got up from bed and I’m already reading your articles. This means something! Really useful materials. Thanks!

  17. I gotta favorite this internet site it seems invaluable very beneficial

  18. I conceive you have mentioned some very interesting details , appreciate it for the post.

  19. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy invaluable

  20. 網路 says:

    I just added your website on my blogroll. I may come back later on to check out updates.Great information!

Leave a Reply

