Spreading Good News (Part 338 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Surgery Day!)

I was recently (June 2011) diagnosed with breast cancer and will be blogging about “My Breast Cancer Journey.”

If I can inform or allay the fear(s) of just one female, this journey and the documenting of it will have been worth it!  By the way, men get breast cancer, too.  If you have breast tissue, you can get breast cancer.

******************************************************************

It’s important to have the love and support of your mate as you make this journey.  I am blessed because my man is giving me both, as he stands beside me and behind me!  It would be a whole lot harder—on many levels—without him.  I’m very thankful!

******************************************************************

And I want to acknowledge the outstanding care that has been provided to me by my care givers, starting with my Primary Care Provider, Dr. Stanley Tu of Pasadena, California, Dr. Jon Foran and Dr. Lakshmi Tegulapalle from the Huntington-Hill Breast Center, and Dr. Dawn Hills (my surgeon), Director, Surgical Breast Oncology at the City of Hope Medical Group.

The Huntington-Hill Breast Center is a fantastic, state-of-the-art, beautiful facility.  The staff treats patients with tremendous professionalism, courtesy, kindness, and sensitivity.  Kudos to all of them!

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

FEED THE BEST PARTS OF YOUR SPIRIT; STARVE THE WORSE.

~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

My Breast Cancer Journey:  Surgery Day!

Monday, August 15.  Surgery day!  Woo hoo!!

Pap and I arrive at the Breast Center at 7:30 a.m.

I never thought I’d be happy to have surgery, but, when this is over, the cancerous tumor will be out of me!  I’m happy, but calm.  My blood pressure is 123/53.

They get my breast ready.  A thorough swabbing, followed by two injections.  One inserts a wire that comes out the side of my breast.  The other inserts dye.  Then I’m accompanied to the mammography room for a “gentle” mammogram.  All of this will help guide Dr. Hills to the tumor.

They wheel me to the hospital.  The nurse gets my IV set up.  Dr. Parenti, the anesthesiologist, comes in and asks me a lot of questions.  She’s funny.  I like her, too.

That’s all I remember until after surgery and recovery, when I’m being wheeled to my room.  In addition to the lumpectomy, Dr. Hills removed seven lymph nodes.  She had to insert a drainage tube in me, so I have to stay overnight.  Pap stays with me, and that makes it better!

Tuesday morning Dr. Hills visits me.  Everything went very well!  Yay!  She’ll get the official results on Wednesday or Thursday and call me then.  Hugs all around; then, she released me from the hospital.

I FEEL REALLY GOOD—emotionally, spiritually, and physically!

And I’ve never stopped praying!

Thanks for all your prayers and good wishes!

 

 

NOTE FROM JOYCE:  Prayers and good wishes are welcomed.  Feel free to leave a comment and/or send this link to others.

***************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 338 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Surgery Day!)

  1. Patricia says:

    Aunt JJ, you’re a wonderful, strong woman and I’m thinking about you, so keep being you and things will be just fine!

    Patricia:)

  2. FunDesign2 says:

    Wonderful news OF COURSE! An expected outcome; surgery went well, recovery going good and HEALED from the crown of your head to your tippie toes.

    Love you, and REST, don’t over do it. Sometimes it CAN be tempting to resume back to your day to day, but remember, your still taking STEPS…..lol…..

    I Love YOU!
    Dannie

Leave a Reply

