Spreading Good News (Part 340 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Surgery Day! [Repeat])

I was recently (June 2011) diagnosed with breast cancer and will be blogging about “My Breast Cancer Journey.”

If I can inform or allay the fear(s) of just one female, this journey and the documenting of it will have been worth it!  By the way, men get breast cancer, too.  If you have breast tissue, you can get breast cancer.

******************************************************************

It’s important to have the love and support of your mate as you make this journey.  I am blessed because my man is giving me both, as he stands beside me and behind me!  It would be a whole lot harder—on many levels—without him.  I’m very thankful!

******************************************************************

And I want to acknowledge the outstanding care that has been provided to me by my care givers, starting with my Primary Care Provider, Dr. Stanley Tu of Pasadena, California, Dr. Jon Foran and Dr. Lakshmi Tegulapalle from the Huntington-Hill Breast Center, and Dr. Dawn Hills (my surgeon), Director, Surgical Breast Oncology at the City of Hope Medical Group.

The Huntington-Hill Breast Center is a fantastic, state-of-the-art, beautiful facility.  The staff treats patients with tremendous professionalism, courtesy, kindness, and sensitivity.  Kudos to all of them!

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

IT IS THRIFTY TO PREPARE TODAY FOR THE WANTS OF TOMORROW.
~ Aesop (620 BC – 560 BC)

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

I didn’t get the “official” results from Dr. Hills today, either (Friday).  She examined me, said that I am doing very well, and changed my bandage.   I’ll see her again on Tuesday afternoon.

Nothing else to report!  So, I’m leaving the “Surgery Day” post up. (You can also scroll through and read any one of the over 300 posts that I have here.)


My Breast Cancer Journey:  Surgery Day!

Monday, August 15.  Surgery day!  Woo hoo!!

Pap and I arrive at the Breast Center at 7:30 a.m.

I never thought I’d be happy to have surgery, but, when this is over, the cancerous tumor will be out of me!  I’m happy, but calm.  My blood pressure is 123/53.

They get my breast ready.  Two injections.  One inserts a wire that comes out the side of my breast.  The other inserts dye.  Then I’m accompanied to the mammography room for a “gentle” mammogram.  All of this will help guide Dr. Hills to the tumor.

They wheel me to the hospital.  The nurse gets my IV set up.  Dr. Parenti, the anesthesiologist, comes in and asks me a lot of questions.  She’s funny.  I like her, too.

That’s all I remember until after surgery and recovery, when I’m being wheeled to my room.  In addition to the lumpectomy, Dr. Hills removed seven lymph nodes.  She had to insert a drainage tube in me, so I have to stay overnight.  Pap stays with me, and that makes it better!

Tuesday morning Dr. Hills visits me.  Everything went very well!  Yay!  She’ll get the official results on Wednesday or Thursday and call me then.  Hugs all around; then, she released me from the hospital.

I FEEL REALLY GOOD—emotionally, spiritually, and physically!

And I’ve never stopped praying!!!

 

 

NOTE FROM JOYCE:  Prayers and good wishes are welcomed.  Feel free to leave a comment and/or send this link to others.

***************************************************

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 340 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Surgery Day! [Repeat])

  1. Curtis Golpe says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  2. Very interesting subject, appreciate it for posting.

  3. I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site :).

  4. I like this blog it’s a master piece! Glad I observed this on google.

  5. Merely wanna state that this is very helpful , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  6. I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  7. I enjoy your writing style truly loving this internet site. “A small town is a place where there is no place to go where you shouldn’t.” by Burt Bacharach.

  8. Very interesting points you have remarked, thank you for putting up.

  9. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more helpful than ever before. “Truth is not determined by majority vote.” by Doug Gwyn.

  10. I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again!

  11. I will right away grab your rss feed as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  12. Good site! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS which must do the trick! Have a great day! “Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself.” by Lois McMaster Bujold.

  13. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “Feeling passionate about something is like getting a peak at your soul smiling back at you.” by Amanda Medinger.

  14. Only wanna state that this is handy , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  15. Merely wanna admit that this is invaluable , Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  16. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thx again!

  17. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great web-site.

  18. Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was searching for! “The only gift is a portion of thyself.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

  19. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  20. Thanks so much for this! I havent been this moved by a blog for quite some time! You have got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, Youre definitely somebody that has something to say that people need to hear. Keep up the wonderful work. Keep on inspiring the people!

  21. Just a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding pattern. “Justice is always violent to the party offending, for every man is innocent in his own eyes.” by Daniel Defoe.

  22. I genuinely enjoy looking at on this internet site, it has got fantastic articles. “And all the winds go sighing, For sweet things dying.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

  23. Keep up the fantastic work, I read few posts on this site and I believe that your website is real interesting and holds lots of excellent information.

  24. Merely wanna comment on few general things, The website layout is perfect, the written content is real superb. “To imagine is everything, to know is nothing at all.” by Anatole France.

  25. I’ve been browsing on-line more than three hours today, but I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is pretty price sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the net can be a lot more useful than ever before. “Learn to see in another’s calamity the ills which you should avoid.” by Publilius Syrus.

  26. Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw great design and style. “He profits most who serves best.” by Arthur F. Sheldon.

  27. Some genuinely nice and useful info on this website, as well I conceive the design and style has superb features.

  28. Yay google is my king aided me to find this outstanding web site ! . “Nothing can bring you peace but yourself.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

  29. Great post, I believe blog owners should learn a lot from this web site its real user pleasant. “My father always told me, ‘Find a job you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life.'” by Jim Fox.

  30. Precisely what I was looking for, regards for putting up. “There are many victories worse than a defeat.” by George Eliot.

  31. Thank you! Glad you’re enjoying it!!

  32. I was reading through some of your blog posts on this internet site and I believe this website is real instructive! Keep on posting .

  33. Some genuinely nice and utilitarian info on this site, also I conceive the style contains great features.

  34. I think you have created many really interesting points. Not as well many others would really think about this the direction you just did. I am really impressed that there is so much about this subject that has been uncovered and you did it so nicely, with so considerably class. Tiptop one, man! Truly fantastic things right here.

Leave a Reply

