Spreading Good News (Part 342 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Recovery and Beyond)

The goal of Spreading Good News is for readers to:

GET INSPIRED and/or GET MOTIVATED and/or GET INFORMED and/or GET AWE-STRUCK and/or GET A BREAK FROM ALL THE NEGATIVE NEWS and to tell readers about our books!!

******************************************************************

THIS WEEK’S REVIEW:  “Line of Serenity”

Carol Carpenter of Livonia, Michigan, says, “In ‘Line of Serenity,’ Joyce Fields inspires us to face life head on with optimism, enthusiasm and a strong belief in ourselves and others who surround us. She offers strategies for developing a ‘line of serenity,’ a life force that flows through us and links us to others. No matter what challenges we take on, Ms. Fields shows us how to meet each one with love, grace, dignity and a huge appetite for learning and moving onward and upward. Best of all, she shows how the ‘line of serenity’ philosophy and strategies work in her large family – and how they can work for each and every one of us.”

Read the preview and other reviews for “Line of Serenity” and order today at http://www.GoodShortBooks.com.

 

VIEW OUR CABLE TV AD HERE:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AXHTT8NGT8

Our Books Are Now Available in Apple’s iBookstore!!

In case you are into the speed and convenience of e-books, I want you to know that four of our books are now available in Apple’s iBookstore for immediate download to your iPhone, iPad, or iPod!  Here are the titles and the Apple iBook links:

My  15 Dogs:  A 55-Year Journey of Love

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/my-15-dogs/id443785321?mt=11

 

THE VISION:  Telling Kids That They Can Make the World a Better Place

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257365388

LINE OF SERENITY

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257176359

MOTHER’S DOZEN:  An Easy Recipe for Raising GREAT Kids!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257197934

******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

GOOD HUMAN RELATIONS IS THE STUFF FROM WHICH PEACE IS MADE.

~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

My Breast Cancer Journey:  Recovery and Beyond

The day after my surgery, Tuesday, August 16, I was back at home, feeling GREAT!!  Virtually no pain!  And soooo very glad that the tumor had been cut out of my breast!

I thank God all day, every day, but I was REALLY thanking Him on Tuesday!!  So was everyone who loves and cares about me!

Later that evening, I was sitting in my Lazy Boy, just relaxing with my family (my husband, Pap; our son, Mkonto; Konto’s girlfriend, Kortani, and his two daughters, Mekkah [12] and Medina [16 months]).  All of a sudden, walking through the front door is my sister, Nita—all the way from Detroit!!  (So as not to cause any suspicion on my part, our family friend, John, picked her up from the airport.)  What a shock!!  I was totally surprised!!  (She bought her ticket on July 12, the day after I announced to family and friends that I had been diagnosed with breast cancer.)  WHAT A SISTER!!

These days after surgery have been absolutely wonderful!  Pap, Nita, and Mekkah are not allowing me to do anything around the house, which is weird for me, but that’s what I need right now.  A “Club Med” vacation!

Dr. Hills said that I could go walking, read, and work on the computer.  So, I’ve walked (six blocks, roundtrip) to the “corner” store twice, gone to the grocery store twice, and gone to the mall once, I’m always reading something, and I work on the computer every day.  For the trips to the grocery store and the mall, I was a passenger (one of my “do nots” is driving).

Today is Monday, August 22, and Mekkah cooked dinner:  chicken and corn soup.  She got the recipe off the Internet and did an excellent job!  It was DELICIOUS!!  Mekkah wants to be a chef.  She wants to go to Le Cordon Blue Culinary School in Paris, France!  She’s already checked out the airfare from LAX.

Since she wants to be a chef, Mekkah is thoroughly enjoying preparing meals for us.  She makes my most basic requests look beautiful.

Good support makes for a better, faster recovery, and my immediate support team—Pap, Nita, and Mekkah—are really greasing the skids for me!!  My extended support team—other family members and friends—are supporting me via visits, phone calls, e-mails, and social media.

Thanks for all the support, love and prayers, y’all!!

I’ll continue to post about “My Breast Cancer Journey” as progress dictates.  Thanks for staying with me through this first part of my journey!!  I hope you’ll continue to read my blog, as I will continue to post pieces that inspire, encourage, enlighten, and inform.  And please leave a comment, because I like to know what you think!

NOTE FROM JOYCEIf you enjoyed this piece, send the link to others.  Thanks!!

***************************************************

~ Joyce Fields

 

 

 

 

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 342 – My Breast Cancer Journey: Recovery and Beyond)

  1. Great post. So glad your recovery is going so well. You are so loved, what an amazing journey and testimony.

  2. Ava Glenn says:

    Hey Baby!
    Sounds like you’re journey is coming along marvelously! You have so much love around you both near and far you can be nothing but blessed. Get well soon.
    Love you sis!

  3. I have been examinating out some of your articles and i must say nice stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.

Leave a Reply

