Spreading Good News (Part 402 – The Teddy)

The goal of Spreading Good News is for readers to:

GET INSPIRED and/or GET MOTIVATED and/or GET INFORMED and/or GET AWE-STRUCK and/or GET A BREAK FROM ALL THE NEGATIVE NEWS and to tell readers about our good, short books and our online store.

******************************************************************

OUR GOOD, SHORT BOOKS

THIS WEEK’S REVIEW:  “The Best Way to Keep a Man is to Let Him Go (among other things)”

Lisa Alexander of Pasadena, California, says, “Practical Relationship Guide…and Story of Love!!  I enjoyed reading this entire book because it offers a rare perspective on relationships, from a woman who has been in a relationship for many, many years.  Any woman, at any stage of her life or relationship can read this book and take away something important to think about.  Thank you.”

 

 

Read the preview and other reviews for “The Best Way to Keep a Man is to Let Him Go (among other things)” and order today at http://www.GoodShortBooks.com.

 

VIEW OUR CABLE TV AD HERE (showcasing our printed books):  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AXHTT8NGT8

 

E-Books!  Only $1.99 each!!  All of our books are available as e-books, too.  Go to http://www.GoodShortBooks.com.

 

iBooks!

Four of our books are now available in Apple’s iBookstore for immediate download to your iPhone, iPad, or iPod!  Here are the titles and the Apple iBookstore links:

 

My  15 Dogs:  A 55-Year Journey of Love

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/my-15-dogs/id443785321?mt=11

 

THE VISION:  Telling Kids That They Can Make the World a Better Place

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257365388

 

LINE OF SERENITY

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257176359

 

MOTHER’S DOZEN:  An Easy Recipe for Raising GREAT Kids!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/isbn9781257197934

******************************************************************

VISIT OUR ONLINE STORE!

WORLD PEACE” shirts/hats/mugs, etc., “LIFE QUOTE” shirts, and “MEANINGFUL MESSAGES” (cards that address serious issues—incarceration, terminal illness, bullying/peer pressure, etc.) available at http://www.zazzle.com/emrosecreations! Something for everyone–dog shirt, too!  Browse and order today!!

*******************************************************************

TODAY’S QUOTE

OPTIMISM MAY SOMETIMES BE DELUSIONAL, BUT PESSIMISM IS ALWAYS DELUSIONAL.   ~ Alan Cohen

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

I find a lot of great pieces on the Internet.  Here’s one that I just found.  I hope you enjoy it!

The Teddy

~ Jay James

After a car accident put me into the hospital, I felt very angry about a lot of the way my life was turning out.  The doctors repaired the major damage done to my body.  And after all, the car was just that, a car.  But I was laying there feeling pretty sorry for myself.  I didn’t care to see anyone or talk to anyone.

I had been there about a week.  The nurses had been good about leaving my door closed.  But one bright morning I was awakened by sounds of people out in the hallway.

Since I was still feeling sorry for myself, I didn’t wake up in a pleasant mood. As I pushed the button to call the nurse, I saw a little boy in the hallway.  A cast completely covered his arm, from fingers to shoulder.  His face was covered with a smile.  In his other hand he was holding a teddy bear.

I heard his mother telling him to sit and wait until she was done.  He looked over to me and I had the permanent scowl on my face, but he smiled at me. Then without warning, he came running into my room.  As I was silently cursing the nurses for leaving my door open, the smile upon his face widened.

He came right up next to my bed and stood there smiling at me.  Then with his good arm he held out his big brown teddy bear.  It was missing an eye, but I had to admit it was cute.  I laid there and stared at him for the longest time. Not knowing what he was wanting from me.

He said, “This is Teddy.  He’s still sick.  He needs to stay here.  Could you keep him here till he gets better?”

I reached out and took Teddy from his hand.  I promised I would take care of Teddy until the time he got better.  I also promised to keep him from harm afterwards.

Just then the little boy’s mother called to him.  He looked back at me and said, “Bye, mister; bye, Teddy” and ran out of the room.  His mother smiled down at him, and the nurse wheeled him away.  I sat there hugging Teddy for the longest time.  The nurse responded to my call just in time to catch the tears rolling down my cheeks and the biggest smile on my face.

I will never forget what that little boy gave to me that day.  It was so much more than a well-loved, one-eyed teddy bear.  I have kept my promises to that little boy, too.

I have kept Teddy close to me ever since that day in the hospital room, and I have kept that little boy close to my heart.  Just recently I sent Teddy to the most special person in my life.  She has the most incredible love.  I will join her soon and we will keep Teddy for the rest of our lives.

Teddy will always be very well loved.

 

 

NOTE FROM JOYCEIf you enjoyed and/or learned from this blog, please leave a comment and send the link to others.  Thanks!!

 

 

If you’re interested in reading all about “My Breast Cancer Journey,” those posts start with post #334.

***************************************************

~ Joyce Fields

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spreading Good News (Part 402 – The Teddy)

  1. Farmacia says:

    as soon as I discovered this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

Leave a Reply

