Spreading Good News (Post 547 – WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH: Barbara Jordan, Politician Extraordinaire)

The goal of Spreading Good News is for readers to:

GET INSPIRED and/or GET MOTIVATED and/or GET INFORMED and/or GET AWE-STRUCK and/or GET A BREAK FROM ALL THE NEGATIVE NEWS and to tell readers about our good, short books and our online store.

CLICK THE “FOLLOW” LINK ABOVE TO RECEIVE AN E-MAIL ALERT FOR EACH NEW, DAILY POST!!

*******************************************************************

CONSTANT QUOTE

 

 

IT’S BETTER TO DIE CHASING A DREAM NEVER CAUGHT THAN TO DIE NEVER HAVING CHASED THE DREAM.  ~ Joyce Fields

******************************************************************

 

 


FOR EVIL TO FLOURISH, ALL THAT IS NEEDED IS FOR GOOD PEOPLE TO DO NOTHING.  ~ Edmund Burke

******************************************************************

The Candle-Lighter Award and the Sunshine Award

Thank you very much to www.living4bliss.wordpress.com for presenting me with the Candle-Lighter Award and the Sunshine Award.  I truly appreciate the recognition!

Both of these awards are for a blog or post that is positive and brings light into the world.

I started this “Good News” blog in July 2010 because I was tired of and disgusted by all the negative news and information.  I wanted to give people positive news and information.  I’m having a great time looking for, receiving, and posting these pieces!  Stay tuned!!

RULES for the Candle-Lighter Award

Whenever you see a blog or post you think brightens the world, give the blogger the Candle-Lighter Award.

Recipients can accept or decline. What does the recipient have to do?  Simply accept and nothing more!  You can paste this image on your blog, if you wish, and you are done!  If you wish to honor someone else with a Candle, pass it on, anytime and as many times and to as many people as you wish.

Come on and help me brighten up all our lives!

******************************************************************

TODAY’S BLOG

We all should know more about the contributions that women have made in order to make this world a better place.

In honor of “Women’s History Month,” I will be Spreading Good News with frequent posts of informative, educational, entertaining pieces about the contributions and accomplishments of women.

I hope you enjoy this piece!

WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH:  Barbara Jordan, Politician Extraordinaire

Born on February 21, 1936, in Houston, Texas, Barbara Jordan was a lawyer and educator who was a congresswoman from 1972 to 1978—the first African American congresswoman to come from the Deep South and the first woman ever elected to the Texas Senate (1966). She captured the attention of President Lyndon Johnson, who invited her to the White House for a preview of his 1967 civil rights message.

Jordan was the youngest of three daughters in a close-knit family. As a high school student, she became a skilled public speaker, winning a national debate contest in 1952. She attended Texas Southern University in Houston, becoming a member of the debate team that tied Harvard University in a debate—one of her proudest college moments. Following graduation (magna cum laude in 1956), she attended Boston University Law School, where she was one of only two women—both African Americans from Houston—to graduate. She passed the Massachusetts bar exam but moved to Tuskegee Institute (later renamed Tuskegee University) in Alabama and taught there for one year before returning to Texas and gaining admittance to the bar there.

Jordan was an effective campaigner for the Democrats during the 1960 presidential election, and this experience propelled her into politics. In 1962 and 1964 she was an unsuccessful candidate for the Texas House of Representatives, but she was elected in 1966 to the Texas Senate, the first African American member since 1883 and the first woman ever elected to that legislative body.

Jordan’s success in Texas politics came from her knowledge of and adherence to the rules of the political process. She went to great lengths to fit in and sought advice on committee assignments. Her own legislative work focused on the environment, antidiscrimination clauses in state business contracts, and urban legislation, the last being a political challenge in a state dominated by rural interests. She captured the attention of President Lyndon Johnson, who invited her to the White House for a preview of his 1967 civil rights message.

Jordan remained in the Texas Senate until 1972, when she was elected to the U. S. House of Representatives from Texas’ 18th district. In the House, Jordan advocated legislation to improve the lives of minorities, the poor, and the disenfranchised and sponsored bills that expanded workers’ compensation and strengthened the Voting Rights Act of 1965 to cover Mexican Americans in the Southwest.

Although she acquired a reputation as an effective legislator, Jordan did not become a national figure until 1974, when her participation in the hearings held by the House Judiciary Committee on the impeachment of President Richard M. Nixon was televised nationwide. Her keynote address at the 1976 Democratic National Convention confirmed her reputation as one of the most commanding and articulate public speakers of her era.

Jordan decided not to seek a fourth term and retired from Congress in 1979. In that year also she published Barbara Jordan, a Self-Portrait. She then accepted a position at the University of Texas, Austin, where she taught at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs until her death. Despite her absence from Washington, D.C., she remained influential in political affairs. In the 1990s she served as an adviser on ethics in government for Texas Gov. Ann Richards and also was chairperson for the U.S. Commission on Immigration Reform.

In 1990, the National Women’s Hall of Fame voted her one of the most influential women of the twentieth century. In 1992, she was again the keynote speaker at the Democratic National Convention at which she nominated President Bill Clinton. In 1994, she received the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Barbara Jordan died on January 17, 1996. She had earned a lasting reputation as a powerful force in American politics.

Listen to her powerful 1992 keynote address here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADDsKGs6Gr4

*******************************************

What are your thoughts on this piece?

 

NOTE FROM JOYCEIf you enjoyed and/or learned from this blog, please leave a comment and send the link to others.  Thanks!!

If you’re interested in reading all about “My Breast Cancer Journey,” those posts start with post #334.

***************************************************

~ Joyce Fields

 

ADDITIONAL OFFERINGS FROM JOYCE FIELDS

Joyce is an author who has written seven books.  If you enjoy this blog, you will, undoubtedly, enjoy all her books.  Her sister, Anita, is also an author.

BE INSPIRED!  You can read about and order their books AND order merchandise from their online store at this link (or click the “BE INSPIRED!” button above):

https://lineofserenity.wordpress.com/get-more-inspiration/

Thanks for your interest AND support!!

Contact Joyce at goodshortbooks@yahoo.com.

***************************************************

SOME OF JOYCE’S FAVORITE BLOGS

I visit these blogs and leave comments regularly.  I think you will enjoy them all!

http://www.lenasledgeblog.com  Books, reviews, give-aways, interviews.

http://living4bliss.com  Believing Life Is Set up for Success (BLISS)

http://goss-coaching.com/author/gosscoaching  A professional writer and wellness coach helping people connect thoughts, feelings, beliefs, and action to create optimal health and a vibrant life.

http://www.thebirkineffect.com  Musings of a “want it all” 21st century woman

http://www.thesweetsensations.com  A baking, entertainment, and lifestyle blog.  Fantastic recipes and food photography, too!

http://www.pennilessparenting.com  A rich life on minimum wage.  Plus fabulous, healthful recipes!

http://www.rumpydog.com  I’m a dog with a unique perspective on human life.

http://davidkanigan.com/  Lead.Learn.Live.  David Kanigan:  Inspiration, Ideas & Information.

 

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

152 Responses to Spreading Good News (Post 547 – WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH: Barbara Jordan, Politician Extraordinaire)

  1. She was a force to be reckoned with.

  2. living4bliss says:

    I didn’t know she was dead!!!

  3. Mireya Salsa says:

    Very nice post, thanks a lot for sharing. Do you have an RSS feed I can subscribe to?

  4. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Keep it up!

  5. What lies beneath those post is the meaning of life

  6. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

  7. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish only about gossip and internet stuff and this is really frustrating. A good blog with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this web-site, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can’t find it.

  8. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  9. Hi! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this website. I will be coming back to this post for more soon.

  10. Really insightful blog post.Actually pumped up about read more. Interesting.

  11. Sigrid Wical says:

    I seriously love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you create this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own blog and want to find out where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

  12. Loving the info on this web site , you have done outstanding job on the content .

  13. I genuinely enjoy examining on this internet site , it has got excellent content .

  14. Nart says:

    Good post. I am a regular visitor of your website and appreciate you taking the time to maintain the nice site. I’ll be a regular visitor for a really long time.

  15. I am not really superb with English but I line up this very easy to read.

  16. Dong Minkler says:

    An enormous thanks for your article blog.Really looking forward to looking at more. Significantly obliged.

  17. read more says:

    You got a very good website, Gladiola I noticed it through yahoo.

  18. supllements says:

    It’s really a cool and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  19. I consider something genuinely special in this web site .

  20. Great post, I conceive website owners should larn a lot from this website its very user genial .

  21. Very fantastic information can be found on web site.

  22. I am often to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for brand spanking new information.

  23. ici says:

    As soon as I discovered this internet site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them.

  24. As I website possessor I believe the content here is really good , regards for your efforts.

  25. wonderful website, i certainly love this blog, keep on it!!! Tina

  26. I was really pleased I discovered this site. Thank you for your time for this fab read! I have this bookmarked to watch out for the new things you blog about.

  27. I like this website its a master peace ! Glad I found this on google. “The definition of a beautiful woman is one who loves me.” by Sloan Wilson.

  28. Woh I enjoy your posts , saved to favorites ! .

  29. Really nice style and design and excellent written content , very little else we need : D.

  30. Real superb info can be found on web blog.

  31. I like this web site very much, Its a real nice spot to read and find information. “Joy is not in things it is in us.” by Richard Wagner.

  32. very nice publish, i definitely love this website, keep on it

  33. Glad to be one of several visitants on this amazing web site : D.

  34. click here says:

    Definitely, what a fantastic blog and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

  35. I your writing style genuinely loving this internet site .

  36. Definitely, what a great website and informative posts, I will bookmark your website.Have an awsome day!

  37. I respect that you are creating a much more quiter world in your blog

  38. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  39. whoah this blog is excellent i love reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You know, many people are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly.

  40. resqme says:

    Woh I love your blog posts, saved to bookmarks ! .

  41. Thankyou for this fantastic post, I am glad I found this website on yahoo.

  42. This internet site is my intake , really good pattern and perfect content .

  43. come on over says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  44. I like this web blog so much, bookmarked .

  45. Some truly grand work on behalf of the owner of this website , utterly great subject material .

  46. Some genuinely fantastic blog posts on this web site , appreciate it for contribution.

  47. I consider something truly special in this web site .

  48. Its great as your other blog posts : D, thanks for putting up.

  49. powered by says:

    I like this website so much, saved to my bookmarks .

  50. I love reading through and I think this website got some truly useful stuff on it! .

  51. buy flovent says:

    Some really nice stuff on this website , I love it.

  52. Thank you for sharing with us, I believe this website truly stands out : D.

  53. Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the same topics? Thank you so much!

  54. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  55. Some truly quality blog posts on this site, saved to favorites .

  56. Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this web site wants way more consideration. I’ll probably be once more to read much more, thanks for that info.

  57. Hi. I noticed your blog title, “Spreading Good News (Post 547 – WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH: Barbara Jordan, Politician Extraordinaire) | Lineofserenity's Blog” doesn’t really reflect the content of your web site. When composing your website title, do you think it’s most beneficial to write it for Search engine optimisation or for your visitors? This is something I’ve been struggling with mainly because I want good search rankings but at the same time I want the best quality for my site visitors.

  58. wow, awesome blog post.Thanks Again. Want more.

  59. Leon Valme says:

    Hey, awesome site.I saw this on bing on a semi related term. Reguards from Africa

  60. I enjoy reading a post that can make men and women think. Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!

  61. I really enjoy reading on this site, it has got good blog posts.

  62. JASA KARGO says:

    I was reading through some of your content on this website and I believe this web site is very instructive! Continue putting up.

  63. I’ve read my share of blog posts and I’ve got to say, this is one of the best. Thanks for this awesome info.

  64. Kerala India says:

    I feel like I’m constantly looking for interesting things to read about a variety of subjects, but I manage to include your blog among my reads every day because you have compelling entries that I look forward to. Here’s hoping there’s a lot more amazing material coming!

  65. Olene Cazeau says:

    I needed to thank you for this very good read!! I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new stuff you post…

  66. Thank you for your post.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  67. I was studying some of your posts on this website and I think this internet site is real informative! Keep posting.

  68. Very informative article.Really looking forward to read more. Really Great.

  69. Hey, thanks for the blog. Really Cool.

  70. view site says:

    I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great posts .

  71. A giant thank you for this amazing blog content.Much thanks once again. Great.

  72. I really enjoy the blog.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  73. Really enjoyed this blog post.Really thank you! Great.

  74. partner site says:

    Deference to post author, some superb information .

  75. Some truly nice stuff on this website , I like it.

Leave a Reply

