EXCERPT – Mother’s Dozen: An Easy Recipe for Raising GREAT Kids!

Mother's Dozen - English 060214FOREWORD
“Mother’s Dozen” is a handbook of excellence in raising children. It systematizes the rules passed from generation to generation
regarding preparing children for the world to come.

It involves tough love; it encompasses touchy-feely; it establishes fences that keep the wolf out and the sheep safe. It is common
sense, the most uncommon thing in the world, particularly in this present age of negative imaging and self-raised “rug rats.”

The quest is not for something “new,” but for something substantial.
It is here. Every line brings an “aha!” experience. The head nods
“yes.” The will prods action.

Well done, well done!

Rev. Cecil L. “Chip” Murray
First A.M.E. Church, Los Angeles
(Retired)

 

INTRODUCTION
I’m very grateful to all the excellent teachers I had, especially my
mother, my aunts, and other female relatives, friends, and neighbors.

I was born in a time (1944) when raising children seemed to be the
most important responsibility females had. Their homes were run
with rules, order, and organization. They had strong, sound
philosophies that taught children to love, honor, and respect
themselves; thereby teaching the children to love, honor, and respect
others. They were on a mission: to teach their children to stand
proudly on their own two feet. Virtually all of them were excellent
teachers. I watched, I listened, and I learned.

When I gave birth to my son, I started using those same rules and
philosophies to raise him. To this day, I am frequently complimented,
especially by elders, on how well my son turned out.

I wanted to write this book because of the negative, unhealthy mother/child interactions I regularly see and hear in malls, supermarkets, schools, parks, stores—practically everywhere.

It’s not easy raising children, but, as mothers, we can do a lot to help
ourselves and our children.

Looking back, I think the most important “ingredients” can be put into
twelve categories:

1. Start from infancy
2. Manners
3. Love for learning
4. Responsibility
5. Rules, order, and organization
6. Independence
7. Spirituality (Higher Power)
8. Affection
9. Discipline/Self-Control
10. Feed interests
11. Obedience
12. Patience

Mother’s Dozen:  An Easy Recipe for Raising GREAT Kids! is available at http://www.goodshortbooks.com – 48 pages; $7.99.  eBook is $2.99.

INVEST IN YOUR READING PLEASURE AND ORDER TODAY.

This book makes an excellent addition to a baby shower gift!!

About Line of Serenity (Joyce Fields)

As a thought leader for today's generation, I choose to be part of the solution and am doing things that positively impact people's lives. In addition to being a happy, married (since 1967!) woman, sister, aunt, mother, grandmother, great grandmother, I have over 40 years' experience in "Corporate America": Stenographer, Secretary, Supervisor, Analyst, Office Manager, Executive Assistant. I am also a professional proofreader and the author of eight books (seven non-fiction; one children's fiction--http://www.GoodShortBooks.com).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to EXCERPT – Mother’s Dozen: An Easy Recipe for Raising GREAT Kids!

  1. Sandra Garth says:

    Lots of wisdom here Joyce thanks for the wise words.

Leave a Reply

